Towards Ultracold Dy₂ Molecules via STIRAP

L. Dalila Robledo de Basabe^{1†}, Jing-Lun Li², Michał Tomza³, Mikhail Lemeshko², Giacomo Valtolina¹, Gerard Meijer¹

¹Department of Molecular Physics, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Faradayweg 4-6, 14195 Berlin, Germany ²Institute of Science and Technology Austria, Am Campus 1, 3400 Klosterneuburg, Austria ³Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw, ul. Pasteura 5, 02-093 Warszawa, Poland [†]corresponding author's email: robledo@fhi-berlin.mpg.de

Ultracold molecules composed of lanthanide atoms offer a unique platform for exploring strongly anisotropic interactions, quantum magnetism, and precision-controlled chemistry. Here, we propose a method to create ground-state dysprosium dimers (Dy_2) from ultracold Dy atoms using the Stimulated Raman Adiabatic Passage (STIRAP) technique. To identify an optimized STIRAP scheme, we systematically explore the intermediate state by numerically solving the coupled-channel Schrödinger equation and subsequently calculating the Franck–Condon factors. The interatomic interaction is modeled using an anisotropic long-range van der Waals potential combined with a short-range repulsive term, which can be refined based on our ongoing spectroscopic measurements. While this study is still in progress, our preliminary simulations offer promising insights into experimentally viable pathways for producing ground-state Dy_2 molecules. We also outline the roadmap for the experimental platform under construction, aimed at enabling the realization and control of complex magnetic molecules at ultracold temperatures.

Acknowledgments

We gratefully acknowledge M. Lepers for supplying the numerical values of the dispersion coefficients. Special thanks to the members of the Molecular Quantum Matter lab — J. Seifert, M. Dürbeck, N. Werum, L. Reihs, J. P. Marulanda, and B. Choudhari — as well as the technical staff — H. Haak, M. de Pas, and R. Thomas — for their contributions to the construction of the experimental apparatus.

References

- [1] A. Petrov, E. Tiesinga, and S. Kotochigova Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 103002 (2012).
- [2] N. V. Vitanov, A. A. Rangelov, B. W. Shore, K. Bergmann Rev. Mod. Phys. 89, 015006 (2017).